Balangir Lok Sabha Seat : Parties Locked In Tough Fight

Balangir: Balangir Lok Sabha seat in western Odisha, which is going to polls on April 18, is poised for an exciting triangular contest if pre-poll indications are anything to go by.

Kalikesh Singh Deo, the sitting MP of Balangir Lok Sabha constituency, three-time BJP MP and his sister-in-law, Sangeeta Singh Deo and Congress’s Samarendra Mishra are locked in a triangular battle of ballots.

The sitting BJD MP Kalikesh who had polled 4,53,519 votes had defeated BJP’s Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo (3,49,220 votes) by more than one lakh votes.

BJD’s Kalikesh, who is seeking re-election, banks on party supremo Naveen Patnaik’s good governance and developmental programmes while BJP has dwelt on Narendra Modi’s government’s achievement both in the spheres of development and national security to wrest the seat from the regional party. On the Congress is hopeful of getting people’s mandate on the strength of party’s pro-poor and pro-farmer policies and bad governance both by BJD and BJP.

 Voters’ mood in this politically-sensitive parliamentary constituency, which has been victim of successive governments in the past, is difficult to gauge. A sense of indecisiveness grips the electors and their preference of candidates also stands divided. All the major players in the fray have their share of vote bank. It remains to be seen whether the major contenders manage to eat into rivals’ vote base to get elected this time.