Five Ex-Bureaucrats, Two Media Barons Try Out Their Luck On April 23 Polls

Bhubaneswar: Five former bureaucrats and two media barons are trying out their luck in the 3rd phase of Lok Sabha and the assembly elections that are being held simultaneously in Odisha.

The former bureaucrats who are contesting the elections in the 3rd phase of simultaneous elections are Aparajita Sarangi, Arup Patnaik, Prakash Mishra, Nalini Kanta Pradhan and Ramesh Chandra Sai.

They are contesting the elections for the first time. The 3rd phase of simultaneous polls are being held held on April 23 in the state in Cuttack, Puri, Bhubaneswar, Dhenkanal, Sambalpur and Keonjhar parliamentary constituencies and 42 assembly segments coming under it.

Aparajita Sarangi, an IAS officer who quit government service to plunge into politics, is a BJP candidate from Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat. She is pitted against former Mumbai Police Commissioner and retired IPS officer Arup Patnaik of the BJD and veteran CPM leader Janardan Pati.

Similarly, former Director General of CRPF and Odisha DGP Prakash Mishra is trying his luck as a BJP candidate from the Cuttack Lok Sabha seat.

Mishra is facing five-time Lok Sabha lawmaker Bhartruhari Mahatab of the BJD, and former Odisha minister and Congress candidate Panchanan Kanungo in the prestigious Cuttack seat.

Former secretary of the Works Department, Nalini Kanta Pradhan, who quit the government service in February this year, is a BJD candidate from Sambalpur Lok Sabha seat and he is facing BJP candidate Nitesh Gangdeb, a sitting MLA from Deogarh. The Congress has fielded former MP Sarat Patnaik.

Former Odisha Administrative Officer Ramesh Chandra Sai, a BJD candidate, is trying his luck from the Atthmalik assembly segment against Bhagirathi Pradhan of BJP and Bijayananda Choliya of the Congress.

Similarly, fate of two media barons will be decided on April 23 polls.

While BJD’s Cuttack Lok Sabha candidate and sitting MP Bhartruhari Mahatab is the editor of Odia daily ”Prajatantra”, Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, the editor of the state’s highest circulated newspaper ”Sambad” is a regional party candidate in the Khandapada assembly seat.

Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, a sitting Rajya Sabha lawmaker also owns Kanaka TV.