While BJP celebrates its hollow victory, India will mourn defeat of democracy: Rahul

0 21

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi today hit out at the BJP over its “irrational insistence” to form government in Karnataka despite “not having the numbers” and said that while the saffron party will celebrate its “hollow victory”, India will mourn the “defeat of democracy”.

In his first public comment over the dramatic developments that took place in the state after the Assembly election there threw up a hung verdict, Gandhi tweeted, “The BJP’s irrational insistence that it will form a Govt. in Karnataka, even though it clearly doesn’t have the numbers, is to make a mockery of our Constitution. This morning, while the BJP celebrates its hollow victory, India will mourn the defeat of democracy.”

BJP president Amit Shah hit back Rahul’s remark and said that the Congress party’s support to JD(S) is shameful. has got the people’s mandate with 104 seats while Congress’ tally dropped from 122 in 2013 to 78 he tweeted.

Former finance minister P Chidambaram slammed BJP after the party put out a copy of the letter of invitation by the governor on Wednesday. He raised the question on the governor’s letter and said that it does not mention how many lawmakers’ support Yeddurappa.

“Governor invites Yeddyurappa to manufacture a majority in 15 days. Governor gives Mr Yeddyurappa 15 days to convert the number 104 into 111.”

BJP legislature party leader B S Yeddyurappa was today sworn in today as the chief minister of Karnataka for a second time, after an overnight high-voltage legal battle in the Supreme Court.

The 75-year-old Lingayat strongman was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vajubhai Vala at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan amid loud cheering by his supporters.

Yeddyurappa was administered the oath alone, hours after the Supreme Court refused to stay his swearing-in.In a rare post-midnight courtroom battle, the Congress-JD(S) combine made a desperate legal push to stall the government formation.

The BJP has 104 MLAs in the House, eight short of the magic figure of 112.

Polling was held in 222 of the state’s 224 seats.

Election to the Jayanagar seat was countermanded following the death of the BJP candidate, while polling was deferred to May 28 for R R Nagar seat due to alleged electoral malpractices.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.