Karnataka : Congress workers Angry over ticket distribution, vandalise party office, BJP releases second list

0 52

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Mandya : The Congress workers on Monday vandalised the party office here, to protest against the distribution of tickets for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly Elections. The Congress Party released its first list of 218 candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections on April 15.

The party’s chief ministerial candidate Siddaramaiah will contest from the Chamundeshwari constituency. Siddaramaiah’s son Dr Yatheendra will contest from Varuna constituency.

Karnataka Home Minister R Ramalinga Reddy will contest from BTM Layout, while his daughter Sowmya Reddy will contest from Jayanagar The Congress is yet to release candidate list for five seats.

BJP declared 82 candidates in second list

The BJP has released its second list for Karnataka elections. The names of 82 candidates have been announced in this list. Earlier, on April 9, BJP had declared the names of 72 candidates in its first list. In it, the party’s CM candidate, Yeddyurappa, was given ticket from Shakaripura. Congress also released a list of 218 candidates on Sunday.

The meeting of the Chief Election Committee of the party was held under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the party headquarters in New Delhi on Sunday for the selection of candidates in the Karnataka elections. In the meeting till late evening, many senior leaders including party president Amit Shah, Yeddyurappa, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal and others participated in this meeting. But due to the late meeting, the names of the candidates could not be declared yesterday.

Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 to elect its representatives for the 225-member assembly. The results will be out on May 15.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.