IND vs SA: India's target of 208 runs, South Africa all out for 130 in second innings


ANKUR DWIVEDI | Published On: Jan 08, 2018 04:35 PM IST |   59

Cape Town: The first match of the three-Test series between South Africa and India is being played in Cape Town. On the third day the game was canceled due to rain. On the fourth day South Africa started with 65 runs for 2 wickets. The team scored 130 runs till all out. This gave them an edge of 207 runs. Now India has to achieve this goal to win.

South Africa's second innings -

For the second innings of South Africa, Dean Elgar and Edin Markram came to the opening. During this Markram scored 34 runs and was bowled out for a hearty Pandya ball. Elgar was the victim of Pandya after scoring 25 runs. Hashim Amla, the legendary player of the team, scored just 4 runs and became the victim of Mohammad Shami. Kagiso Rabada was sent to bat at number three; he also scored 5 runs and was bowled out for Shami.

Captain Faf du Plessis was caught by wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha at the ball of Jaspreet Bumrah on the score zero. Wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, too, could not stay on the crease too long and he became out by Bumrahah with making 8 runs. Bowling all-rounder Vernon Philander was dismissed without being caught off Shami's ball.

Indian bowling -

Hardik Pandya has started taking wickets in Team India's second innings. They returned to South Africa's opener in the team's match. Pandya secured 2 for 27 in 6 overs. On the fourth day of the match Mohammed Shami jumped 3 big wickets He gave 28 runs in 12 overs and also got 3 maiden overs. At the same time, fast bowler Jaspreet Bumrah, who made his debut in Test cricket, got 3 wickets in 39.2 overs in 11.2 overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar also picked up two wickets. He also did economical bowling.

Playing XI

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Riddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah.

South Africa: Dean Elgar, Eden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB De Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Quintan Dicock, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Kigiso Rabada


Like Us

Breaking News

AAP MLAs will go to the President: Sisodia #BlindWC final: India won the world, defeated Pak by 2 wickets National Herald case: IT report submitted by Swamy in court, next hearing on March 17 PM Modi enhances India's pride: Yogi speaks in Yuva Udghosh Rally