Special Tribal Development Councils In Nine Tribal Districts

0 41

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government has formed special development councils (SDCs) in nine tribal-dominated districts of the state, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said.

The nine tribal dominated districts are – Nabarangpur, Malkangiri, Koraput, Rayagada, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, and Sundargarh.

The SDCs will focus on preservation and promotion of tribal culture and traditions, heritage and unique identity of tribal communities in accordance with their socio-economic development, Patnaik said launching the councils at a function here yesterday.

A total of Rs 175 crore will be spent per annum through these councils and the state government would provide Rs 1.5 crore financial assistance to each block of the nine districts which is over and above the funds allotted under different schemes.

The SDCs will benefit around 14 lakh tribal families on their cultural, educational, sports and economic development activities, he said.

The chief minister also reiterated the state government’s commitment to all-round development and welfare of tribals in the state.

Odisha has 62 tribes out of which 13 tribes are known as particularly vulnerable tribal groups.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.