The battle of Karnataka is not over yet; Here is all you need to know

0 113

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Bengaluru: B S Yeddurappa has taken oath as 23rd Chief Minister of Karnataka after the Supreme Court has given the green signal to BJP. The Raj Bhavan had sent invitation to BJP to form government as the saffron party has emerged as single largest party in the state. The top court put a stay on Congress-Janata Dal Secular’s combine’s legal push aiming to stall BJP’s government formation bid.

Here’s all you need to know:
  • The BJP won 104 seats, emerging as the single largest party, while the Congress and JD(S) bagged 78 and 37 seats, respectively
  • Post the poll verdict, the Congress and the JD(S) announced their decision to form a coalition government in the state with 115 MLAs
  • This move came after the result of the Karnataka Assembly polls announced on Tuesday delivered a hung assembly
  • Congress-JD(S) accused the BJP of poaching his party MLAs
  • Both BJP and (JD-S) backed by the Congress Party met the governor on Tuesday, seeking a chance to prove their majority
  • Governor Vala late on Wednesday evening had invited Yeddyurappa to form his government in the state and gave 15-days time to prove his majority on the floor of the assembly
  • The Congress and JD(S) had on Wednesday night moved to the apex court challenging Karnataka Governor Vajubhai R. Vala’s decision
  • The Apex court bench heared the case for nearly three-and-a-half-hours at midnight.
  • Abhishek Manu Singhvi appeared for Congress-JD(S) alliance while former Attorney General Mukul Rohatgi for the BJP and Additional Solicitor General (ASG) Tushar Mehta for Union government.
  • The Supreme Court refused to stay on the Karnataka Governor’s decision to invite BJP to form the government

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.