10th defeat in LS by-poll, BJP reduce to 272 from 282

New Delhi: BJP has suffered a major setback in by-elections in three Lok Sabha and two assembly seats in Karnataka. At the same time, the JDS-Congress alliance has successes to save its fort, but has won in the stronghold of BJP’s veteran leader Shri Ramlulu. Since the formation of the Modi government in 2014, the party has suffered in the by elections consistently.

Results of Bellary, Shimoga and Mandya Lok Sabha seats have come to an end. Of these, Bellary and Shimoga seat was in the possession of BJP. While JDS has Mandya seat. BS Yeddyurappa’s son BY Raghavendra Yeddyurappa win Shimoga seat in the bye-election result on Tuesday.

BJP’s veteran leader Shri Ramlulu was an MP from the Bellary Lok Sabha seat but after the wining in the assembly elections, he resigned from the Lok Sabha membership. In the aftermath of the by-election, the party had made Shantha her sister as candidate, she defeated by the Congress candidate VS Ugrappa. JDS candidate LR Sivaram Gowda has won from Mandya Lok Sabha.

It is to say that since the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, till now the bye-elections have been held in 30 Lok Sabha seats. BJP is losing its winning seats one by one. The BJP, who had lotus feet in 282 seats led by Narendra Modi, became the first party to win majority on its own in 30 years after 1984.

There have been 30 Lok Sabha seats in the elections since 2014, out of which 16 were in the possession of BJP but now only 6 of these seats can be retained by BJP. That is, the party has lost 10 seats. This is the reason why the number of seats in the Lok Sabha has decreased from 282 to 272.