Many senior BJP leader will be ‘out of race’ in 2019 along with Sushma

New Delhi: After Sushma Swaraj’s announcement to not contest in next LS election, nearly half a dozen elder leaders of the party can also be out of race from the Lok Sabha elections. Sushma Swaraj had recently announced to not contest the Lok Sabha elections for health reasons. At the same time she also made it clear that she is leaving electoral politics. However, she is likely to be in the Rajya Sabha next year.

Apart from Sushma, many elderly senior leaders can also make distance from electoral politics. Among them are names like BJP’s governing body member LK Advani, Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi, Bhuvanchandra Khanduri, Shanta Kumar, Karia Munda, Kalraj Mishra, Hukum Dev Yadav, Bijoy Chakrabarty, Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

According to sources, the role of senior leaders who did not contest the BJP elections in 2019 will also change this time. The senior leaders of the party, LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi can come in other roles instead of getting into the Lok Sabha elections.

The end of Atal-Advani era in BJP started with the 2009 LS election, held under the leadership of LK Advani. At the end of 2009, Sushma Swaraj replace Advani from the Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha. After that Nitin Gadkari became party president, as well as the RSS had cleared his thoughts about senior leaders.

Amit Shah was given the command of the party after the formation of government under the leadership of PM Modi in 2014. After that, he gave place young faces into his team and also made Atal Bihari Vajpayee, LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi a member of the board of governance by showing the way out of the parliamentary board. In the last 4 and half years, there was not a single meeting of the board took place.

As the 2019 election will come near, many changes will be seen inside and outside BJP.