Naveen Effects Reshuffle In Organizational Posts

Bhubaneswar: Four days after expelling senior leader Damodar Rout from the party for his alleged anti-party activities, BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik today effected reshuffle the regional party’s organizational network in an apparent bid to quell the intra-party dissension.

Prior to his expulsion, the veteran leader had levelled corruption allegations against the state government. He had also questioned the style of BJD’s functioning.

In the wake of Rout’s expulsion from the party, the reshuffle has assumed significance with Balikuda-Ersama MLA Prasant Muduli being appointed as the working president of the Jagatsinghpur District BJD unit.

Incidentally Muduli, who is also officiating as the chairman of the Jagatsinghpur District Planning Board, had come to the forefront of oust-Rout campaign and met Patnaik seeking his expulsion for party’s larger interest.

While BJD Rajya Sabha member Soumya Ranjan Patnaik has been appointed as the senior observer of the undivided Koraput district, Prafulla Mallick has been asked to shoulder the responsibility of the president of the Dhenkanal District BJD unit.

Minister Nrusingha Charan Sahu has been appointed as the BJD general secretary while Angul District observer Pratap Jena has been given the additional charge of co-observer of Jagatsinghpur district.

While minister Ashok Chandra Panda is the new president of Bhubaneswar District BJD unit, Bijay Kumar Nayak will take charge as the co-observer of Dhenkanal district, according to a press release by the party.